Undertaking a referral

This guide provides information on how to undertake a GOS 18 referral within OPERA as part of the Electronic Eye Care Referral Service (EeRS) or supporting triage services commissioned via PES.  This function is only available to patients from CCGs within the areas listed below in this article. If you are new to OPERA you should also study the video on adding a patient to OPERA (see related articles).

The following video shows the basic process of referring a patient.  You should also look at the articles on provider choice and image upload. You can increase the size of the video using the full-screen option.

This facility is currently applicable for General Referrals (Routine, urgent and emergency) in the following CCG areas: 

  • NHS Basildon and Brentwood CCG
  • NHS Bolton CCG 
  • NHS Bury CCG
  • NHS Castle Point And Rochford CCG
  • NHS Heywood, Middleton & Rochdale CCG
  • NHS Oldham CCG 
  • NHS Manchester CCG 
  • NHS Mid Essex CCG
  • NHS Salford CCG 
  • NHS Southend CCG
  • NHS Stockport CCG 
  • NHS Tameside and Glossop CCG 
  • NHS Thurrock CCG
  • NHS Trafford CCG 
  • NHS Wigan CCG
  • NHS East Lancashire CCG 
  • NHS Blackburn with Darwen CCG
  • NHS Central London (Westminster) CCG
  • NHS South West London CCG - Merton / Wandsworth / Croydon 

And is applicable to the following CCG areas for WET AMD Referrals ONLY:

  • NHS Surrey Heath CCG - WET AMD Referrals only 
  • NHS North East Hampshire and Farenham CCG - WET AMD Referrals Only 
  • NHS Surrey Heartlands CCG - Guilford & Waverley ICP for WET AMD Referrals ONLY 
  • NHS Surrey Heartlands CCG - Surrey Downs ICP for WET AMD Referrals ONL


Should you need support please use the help bubble (that can be found here) to raise a query or email hello@referral.support